NASPH was formed in 2005 in order to further the study of philosophical hermeneutics. While honoring the rootedness of philosophical hermeneutics in the work of Hans-Georg Gadamer, NASPH also recognizes that the future of such thinking depends on engaging with a diverse range of figures and issues. Our intention is to promote dialogue focusing on both the sources of, and the prospects for, philosophical hermeneutics.

In addition to this blog, NASPH also maintains an online archive with information about past conferences and meetings at https://sites.google.com/site/nasphdocs/.

Contact Us
  • E-mail correspondence may be addressed to nasphermeneutics at gmail.com. 

Executive Committee 

  • Alejandro Vallega (University of Oregon), President 
  • Georgia Warnke (University of California, Riverside)
  • Lawrence Schmidt (Hendrix College)
  • Cynthia Nielsen (University of Dallas) 
  • Jamey Findling (Newman University), Webmaster
Advisory Board 
  • Lauren Swayne Barthold (Gordon College)
  • David Vessey (Grand Valley State)
  • Monica Vilhauer (Roanoke College)
  • Walter Brogan (Villanova University)
  • Dennis Schmidt (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Andrzej Wiercinski (International Institute of Hermeneutics)
  • James Risser (Seattle University)
  • Ted George (Texas A&M) 

CFP for the journal Philosophies: Special Issue "Being-with Ethics: Mitsein and the Possibility of a Hermeneutic Ethics"

A call for papers/submissions for an upcoming special edition of the journal  Philosophies on hermeneutic ethics can be found here .  Spec...